OPENING


VIDEO WELCOME WILL FOLLOW


THURSDAY, OCTOBER 21


4–5pm CEST  |  10–11am EDT  |  7–8am PDT  |  midnight–1am AEST

South of the Test Tube I

Approaches to Violence, Viruses, and Digital Culture
in Latin American Science Fiction Cinema
Chair:
Alfredo Suppia
(University of Campinas)

Jorge Prudencio Lozano Botache (Universidad del Quindío)
Digital Cinema for Self-Representation and Decolonization

Anna Marta Marini (Instituto Franklin, Universidad de Alcalá)
Virtual Reality, Cyborg Migrants, and Cross-Border Dehumanization on the US-Mexico Boundary

Alfredo Suppia (University of Campinas)
Digystopias in Brazilian Cinema: Authoritarianism Beyond Zeroes and Ones

Platform Capitalism and Digital Practices of Commemoration

 
Chair:
Tomasz Łysak
(University of Warsaw)

Tomasz Łysak (University of Warsaw)
Platform Capitalism and Digital Practices of Commemoration

Ilya Sulzhytski (University of Greifswald/European Humanities University)
TripAdvisor Reviews of Holocaust Museums in Belarus and Poland: A Data-Driven Cultural Sociology Approach

5.15–6.15pm CEST  |  11.15am–12.15 EDT  |  8.15–9.15am PDT  |  1.15–2.15am AEST

South of the Test Tube II

Approaches to Violence, Viruses, and Digital Culture
in Latin American Science Fiction Cinema
Chair:
Alfredo Suppia
(University of Campinas)

Kênia Freitas
Afrofuturism: Digitopia and Black Brazilian Cinema

Ariela Parisi (Rutgers University)
Decolonizing Cinema through the Intersection between Science Fiction and Disability: The Case of Branca sai, Preto fica by Adirley Queirós

Miguel Ángel Fernández Delgado
Violence and Science Fiction in Mexico: René Avilés Fabila’s Anthology Nueva utopía (y los guerrilleros), a Handbook of Urban Guerrilla Inspired by Science Fiction

Igor Carastan Noboa
The Similars and Mexican History in The Twilight Zone

Digital (Fan) Labor

 
Chair:
tba

Juan José Mondragón Gahona (Universidad del Valle)
The Hobby as Work in Colombia: An Ethnographic Approach to Professional eSports Players

Agnieszka Urbanczyk (Jagiellonian University)
The Americanization of Semi-Peripheral Fandoms: The Case of Fandom in Poland

Zafiris Nikitas (Aristotle Univeristy of Thessaloniki)
Digital Theater in America: Tendencies and Evolutions

6.30–7.30pm CEST  |  12.30–1.30pm EDT  |  9.30–10.30am PDT  |  2.30–3.30am AEST

What Happens ...

... When Social Media and Self-Publishing Platforms
Replace Traditional Models of Knowledge Production?
 
Chair:
Patrick Brock
(University of Oslo)

Patrick Brock (University of Oslo)
Digital Culture in Brazilian SF Fandom: The Case of Sertãopunk

Gabriele Gomes Diniz (Federal University of Ceará)
Creating a Movement from Scratch: A Testimony about the Birth and Growth of Sertãopunk

Alexander Meireles da Silva (Goiás Federal University)
Sertãopunk and the Fourth Wave of Brazilian Science Fiction

Vítor Castelões Gama (University of Brasiília)
Amazofuturism: A Consensus within the Brazilian Science Fiction Community?

Digital Games and Theater in America

Theatricalizing Games, Gamifying Theater,
Playing into Social Change
Chairs:
Aikaterini Delikonstantinidou
(National and Kapodistrian University of Athens)
&
Dimitra Nikolaidou
(Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Aikaterini Delikonstantinidou (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens)
Theater and/as Digital Game(s)

Dimitra Nikolaidou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
Digital Games as Theater

Dan Barnard (London South Bank University)
The Sociocultural Implications of the Theater-Game Alliance

8–8.45pm CEST  |  2–2.45pm EDT

11–11.45am PDT  |  4–4.45am AEST

Featured Speaker

Ignacio Siles

(University of Costa Rica)

Datafication as Culture:

Living with Algorithms

in Central America

(pre-recorded)


FRIDAY, OCTOBER 22


4–5pm CEST  |  10–11am EDT  |  7–8am PDT  |  midnight–1am AEST

New Rules in Digital Spaces

"Recalibrating" Humanity
Chair:
Williams Rothvoss-Buchheimer
(University of Heidelberg)

Lukas Schutzbach (University of Heidelberg)
New Rules in Digital Spaces: "Recalibrating" Humanity

David Schutzbach (University of Frankfurt)
New Ways of Looking at Digital Ethnography: Methological Rule-Breaking in the Digital Age

Valdemir Soares Dos Santos Neto (University South of Santa Catarina)
Digital Archiving Practices through the Globoplay Streaming Platform: Preserving the Past, Evoking Memories

Video Games

 Chair: tba

Jaime Harrison (Queen's University Belfast)
"Believe in the net, god is in the cables": Depictions of Japanese and American Digital Cultures in Suda51's "Kill the Past" Series

Paweł Frelik (University of Warsaw)
Video Games and Climate Change

5.15–6.15pm CEST  |  11.15am–12.15 EDT  |  8.15–9.15am PDT  |  1.15–2.15am AEST

Digital Feminism

Chair:
Georgia Panteli
(University of Vienna)

Shana MacDonald (University of Waterloo) and Brianna Wiens (York University)
Feminist Memes as Media Events and Sites of Community Formations

Lea Loretta Zentgraf (FU Berlin)
Women Disputing the Brazilian Public Sphere: #elenão vs. #elesim

Vanesa Menéndez Cuesta (Universidad Alfonson X El Sabio)
Bad Grrrl(s) "just (w)anna have fvn": Masturbatory [Sad-]Mess

Print Fiction and the Digit-al

 Chair: tba

Lovorka Gruic Grmusa (University of Rijeka)
Digitality and the Print Novel

Maria Virginia Tsikopoulou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
April May(be), or @AprilMaybeNot? Negotiating Identity and (Digital) Space(s) in Hank Green's Novel An Absolutely Remarkable Thing (2018)

Burak Sezer (University of Cologne)
The Digits of Terrorism; Or, The Essential Difference Between 9/11 and 11 September

6.30–7.30pm CEST  |  12.30–1.30pm EDT  |  9.30–10.30am PDT  |  2.30–3.30am AEST

Becoming and Individuation ...

... in the Encounter between Technical Apparati
and Natural Systems in Latin America
Chair:
Renzo Filinich Orozco
(University of Valparaíso)

Javier Blanco & María Luz Ruffini (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba)
The Past, Present, and Future of Cybernetic Thinking in Latin America

Samuel Toro Contreras (Universidad de Valparaíso)
Science Fiction in the Individuation from the Use of Blockchain in the Neurobiological Identity

Diego Gomez-Venegas (Humboldt University Berlin)
Towards a "Rhetoric of Dreams": A Media-Theoretical Discussion on Some Cybernetic Prospects of Project Cybersyn

Paola Torres Núñez del Prado
The "Neoquipucamayoc Manifesto": Reformulating Ontologies Related to Technology, Nature and the Human Experience from an Andean Perspective

Online Activism

Chair:
Anna Marta Marini
(Instituto Franklin, Universidad de Alcalá)

Anthony D'Angelo (Independent)
Platform Activism Case Studies: A View from the Inside

Lea Zentgraf & Karina Sávio (FU Berlin)
The Brazilian Backlash: Social Movements, Digital and Mass Media, and the Public Sphere

8–9.30pm CEST  |  2–3.30pm EDT

11am–12.30 PDT  |  4–5.30am AEST

Featured Speaker

Sharon Block

(University of California, Irvine)

Reflections on the Digital Turn:

Ethics, Algorithms, and Archives

(live presentation)


WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 27


3–4.30pm CEST  |  9–10.30am EDT  |  6–7.30am PDT  |  11pm (Oct 26)–0.30am AEST

Digital Touch

(live roundtable)
Chair:
Sascha Pöhlmann
(University of Innsbruck)

Patrick Brown (Dortmund University of Technology / University of Iowa)
Escaping the Digital Dragon: The Resurgence of the Table-Top Role-Playing Game in the Era of the "Haptic" Digital Image

Thomas Moser (Vienna University of Technology)
Biting Birds to Digital Digits: Presentation and Representation of Haptic Experiences in the Visual Arts

Shirin Weigelt (University of Weimar)
Into the Universe of Digital Media: From Klick to Swipe

From Remote Learning to Virtual Exchange

Digital Pedagogies as Cross-Cultural
and Cross-Disciplinary Opportunities
(live roundtable)
Chair:
Alexandra Sterling-Hellenbrand
(Appalachian State University)

Alexandra Sterling-Hellenbrand (Appalachian State University)
The Cloud as Catalyst: Making Virtual Exchanges Real through Online Course Collaboration

Kristan Cockerill (Appalachian State University)
American Studies US Meets American Studies Austria

Cornelia Klecker (University of Innsbruck)
"Turning Necessity into a Virtue": The Online Classroom as Chance for Intercultural Exchange

Marie Dücker (University of Graz)
Public Feelings with/in the Online Seminar Room during the Pandemic: Affective Blending of the Digital and Real to Teach American Poetry

4.45–6.15pm CEST  |  10.45am–12.15 EDT  |  7.45–9.15am PDT  |  0.45–2.15am AEST

Beyond Digital and/or Physical Environments

Building a Research Metaverse (live workshop)
Chair:
Stephany Peterson
(University of New Brunswick)

Stephany Peterson (University of New Brunswick)
Beyond Physical and/or Digital Environments

Julia Zarb (University of Toronto)
Seeking a Digital Rosetta Stone for the Research Metaverse

Stephany Peterson (University of Brunswick)
Click Your Own Adventure

6.30–8pm CEST  |  12.30–2pm EDT

9.30–11am PDT  |  2.30–4am AEST

Featured Speaker

Martin Paul Eve

(Birkbeck, University of London)

The Horror! The Horror!

Digital Measures of Literariness Anxiety

in the Novels of Stephen King

(live)


THURSDAY, OCTOBER 28


4–5pm CEST  |  10–11am EDT  |  7–8am PDT  |  midnight–1am AEST

Aging in Data I

Chair:
Roberta Maierhofer
&
Barbara Ratzenböck
(University of Graz)

Roberta Maierhofer & Barbara Ratzenböck (University of Graz)
The Construction and Representation of Age/ing in Data and How to Empirically Measure the Experiences of Gender and Generations

Ros Jennings (University of Gloucestershire) & Hannah Grist (University of Bristol)
Theorizing the Aging Self as Data Using Autoethnography

Loredana Ivan (National University of Political Studies and Public Administration)
Technology Generations: Empirical Evidence from a Seven-Country Comparison on Older Media Audiences

5.15–6.15pm CEST  |  11.15am–12.15 EDT  |  8.15–9.15am PDT  |  1.15–2.15am AEST

Digital Pedagogies

Chair: tba

Alex Dejean (East Los Angeles College) & Wesley Hernandez (Cerritos College)
Encouraging Digital Narratives to Facilitate Digital Pedagogy and Andragogy

Aging in Data II

 Chairs:
Roberta Maierhofer
&
Barbara Ratzenböck
(University of Graz)

Mireia Fernández-Ardèvol (Open University of Catalonia)
WhatsApp: An Inter- and Intra-Generational Place

Line Grenier (Université de Montréal)
Digital Imagination in the Making: Digital Music Workshops with Older Montrealers

Rachel Gauthier (University of Reading)
A Strid, A Grave: Old Age, National Identity, and (Un)Conventional Gaming in Passage and The Graveyard

6.30pm CEST  |  12.30 EDT

9.30am PDT  |  2.30am AEST

Fulbright Award

Live Presentation by Recipient


FRIDAY, OCTOBER 29


2–3pm CEST  |  8–9am EDT  |  5–6am PDT  |  10–11pm AEST

Americanized Futures in Video Games I

Chair:
Avery Delany
(Goldsmiths, University of London)

Abbie Hartman (Macquarie University)
"War, War Never Changes": The Deadly Allure of the American Dream in the Fallout Series

Valentina Romanzi (University of Bergamo)
Human Machines, Mechanical Humans: Posthuman Subjectivities in Detroit: Become Human

Sebastian Jablonski (University of Potsdam)
The Fallout Video Games as a Postapocalyptic Reinterpretation of the History of Slavery in the United States

Regina Seiwald (Birmingham City University)
Dystopian Futures and Alternative Histories: American Exceptionalism in Cold War-Themed Video Games

3.15–4.15pm CEST  |  9.15–10.15am EDT  |  6.15–7.15am PDT  |  11.15pm–0.15 AEST

Imaginaries of Americanized Futures in Video Games II

Chair:
Avery Delany
(Goldsmiths, University of London)

Eric Freedman (Columbia College Chicago)
Cheating Death: Artificial Intelligence and the Logic of Pandemic Culture in The Last of Us

Stefan Schubert (Leipzig University)
Imagining a Working-Class Future: Victimizing the "Forgotten Man" in Death Stranding

Aging in Data III

 Chairs:
Roberta Maierhofer
&
Barbara Ratzenböck
(University of Graz)

May Chazan & Melissa Baldwin (Trent University)
Storying Aging Futures: Critical Reflections from an Intergenerational Storytelling Project

Nicole Haring & Dagmar Wallenstorfer (University of Graz)
Digital Storytelling: A Narrative Didactic Tool to Negotiate Intersectional Identities and Forster Intergenerational Knowledge Transfer

Alina Gales (Technical University of Munich)
Perceptions of the Self Versus One's Own Social Group: (Mis)Conceptions of Older Women's Interest in, and Competence with, Technology

4.30pm CEST  |  10.30am EDT  |  7.30am PDT  |  0.30 AEST

AAAS Annual Members' Meeting

7–7.45pm CEST  |  1–1.45pm EDT

10–10.45am PDT  |  3–3.45am AEST

Featured Speaker

TreaAndrea Russworm

(University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

The Future of Video Games:

Race, Play, and the Speculative Imagination

(pre-recorded presentation)


About Digital Americas

Conference Countdown

[powr-countdown-timer id="a432407f_1622094608714"]

Social Media

Contact

If you'd like to get in touch, reach out on social media or send us an email.

Search